905-934-8501 349 Niagara Street, St. Catharines, ON L2M 4V9

Laura Secord School Council

Laura Secord Secondary School receives guidance, recommendations and support from the parent community via the School Council. The School Council, comprised of parent/guardian volunteers, community members, and students, meets regularly with the Administration to ensure school policies are reasonable and consistent with community expectations. They also support school functions such as the musicals, semi-formals, and graduation as chaperones or extra hands, take part in “Parents Reaching Out” events, as well as raise funds to award scholarships each year to deserving students at graduation.

School Council meetings are held on the second Monday of each month (with some exceptions) at 7:00 pm in the schools Library Learning Commons. 

Click Here for further information on parent involvement on the Laura Secord School Council
Click Here for a nomination form for School Council membership 

2018-2019 Executive:

Chair:    Jennifer Johnson                        jennifer.romayne@bell.net
Vice Chair:   Sandy Cowan                                    scowanpt@gmail.com 
Treasurer:   Jean Kozela                                        kozela@vaxxine.com
Secretary:   Kelly Vlaar                                               kvlaar@cogeco.ca
*EVC Chair:   Tracey Turavani                          traceyturavani@gmail.com

*EVC is the Event Volunteer Committee. Parents who wish to volunteer to help at school events but cannot be a member of the School Council may be part of the EVC. Please contact the EVC Chair for more information.

(click on the date to download the agenda for upcoming meetings or minutes from previous meetings)

September 17th, 2018                                                  February 25 2019
October 15th, 2018                                      April 15th, 2019
November 19th, 2018                                      May 13, 2019
January 21, 2019                                      June 10, 2019

Please check the website for changes to these dates. If you wish to become a member of the School Council please contact the school. 


school council 2018-2019
Byron Gracey, Richard Juritsch, Sandy Cowan, Natalie Brown,
Tracey Turavani, Kelly Vlaar, Heidi Poltl
Front:: Justin Moore, Jennifer Johnson, Leah Klassen
Missing: Jean Kozela, Lori Blake, Natasha Lupish

DSBN – School Councils: https://www.dsbn.org/pic/schoolcouncil.html
Guide for School Councils: www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/genearl/elemsec/council/guide.html
Click Here to read our School Council By-Laws